Each year since 1998 the International Association of Chiefs of Police Community Policing Committee has recognized the best practices of agencies around the world. Entries are categorized by population, featuring innovative ideas utilizing the power of community policing, through collaboration and partnerships, to make local, national and global communities safer from crime and terrorism. This recognition comes in the form of the IACP/Cisco Community Policing Award.

Committee Chairman Ronal Serpas, Professor at Loyola University and former New Orleans Police Superintendent, points out, “Recent events have demonstrated that trust between law enforcement and the community it serves is essential.  The agencies we are honoring today have demonstrated how incorporating the community policing philosophy into their mission has built a stronger agency and awarded them with strong and lasting relationships with their communities.”

Since the award’s inception, more than 50 Agency Winners and close to 100 Agency Finalists, from all over the world, have been recognized for their commitment to community policing and innovation. In addition, since 2005, agencies have also received special mention for their utilization of community policing philosophies in the furtherance of homeland security initiatives. Beginning in 2016, the Committee added  Colleges and Universities (any size) and in 2015, the Committee added to the Special Recognition category by recognizing the best use of technology in support of a community policing initiative utilizing the philosophy and principles of community policing.

“In these difficult and challenging times, law enforcement must work smarter to be successful,” said Russell Laine, Chief of the Algonquin IL, Police Department and past IACP President. “Adopting the Community Policing philosophy allows law enforcement agencies to develop a partnership with their community to create a safer environment while combating traditional crimes, supporting homeland security and providing services to our community.”